Workshop & Goodreads

Thanks to a combination of work and other things going on, I’ve been neglecting the Masters. Another piece of advice for people thinking of studying Creative Writing (or any subject) at Masters level – make sure you have a good chunk of spare time available, and are likely to have it for the next two years!

This is a quick catch-up on what I’ve been doing, MA-wise. Our next assignment isn’t due until May, but the workshop, where we can have it peer reviewed, closed at the early date of March 29th. That meant rushing out a story, and you know what – in some ways it turned out better than pieces I’d thought out and planned in detail. At least, I hope so. I haven’t seen my feedback yet.

After the workshop closed for submissions, I received three stories written by other people. My favourite had a fairytale-like quality and was well told and imagined, with humorous touches.

I’m more than two weeks behind with coursework, but fortunately the taught side of the MA is nearly at an end. We have ‘Playing with Genre’ and ‘The Future of Fiction’, and then… we’re on our own!

I’ve also been reading – the latest, a psychological thriller, The Woman in the Window. Someone suggested getting an account on Goodreads and I thought, what a great idea! It’s an excellent place to find new perspectives on books you’ve read or might want to read, and it gives you a strong hint about what readers are looking for in novels. Here is my first review.

Leave a comment